Can Evangelicals Welcome the Community of Christ?

I have an article in the Jan./Feb. 2011 issue of Faith Today that looks at the Community of Christ.  The Community of Christ, formerly known as the Reorganized Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints, has made remarkable strides toward orthodoxy.  In fact, when one looks at their statement of faith, it is hard to find something unorthodox.  The question is: what will evangelicals do about this?  Will we reject them because of the Mormon connection or will we embrace them and welcome them to orthodoxy?

4 thoughts on “Can Evangelicals Welcome the Community of Christ?

  1. Thank you for your article. I have been attending The Salvation Army for 9 years but was raised in the RLDS – Community of Christ church. I applaud you for looking for the similarities among denominations. I have long told my friends that the majority of beliefs between my two churches are the same – a parallel faith if you will. I will always believe in the Book of Mormon as further evidence of Jesus Christ, but the Bible is the foremost Scripture. Well done.

  2. Thanks for your encouragement. I was very impressed with the people I spoke to. I remain convinced that salvation is based on faith in Christ and not the other things we disagree on. Thanks again.

  3. While on a visit at the local Christian Reformed Church (I’ve been going to a weekly activity there for years), I happened to read your article in Faith Today about the discussion on Evangelical acceptance of the Community of Christ.
    I am an active member of the LDS faith and have great respect for all faiths. What I don’t understand is how Christian churches despise our church, and rather than build bridges of understanding they put up walls. Rather than look at similarities, they reject differences.
    Your article was excellent as it shows what people can accomplish when they do look at similarities and find a way – a dialogue – to understanding. This is good.

  4. Thanks for your comments. I will be honest, I disagree with LDS theology. But I do not despise the LDS and more than open to have conversation, beginning, as you say, with what we have in common. We can all learn from one another. Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

